Shura – Just Once

Second of my music double-bill (see here for HONNE), we have the second single from London-based Shura, “Just Once”.

It is quite clear that Shura is heartbreakingly frank in her song-writing. Over soft, 90s-style synths she croons, “If you get my name wrong I won’t get pissed off cause I wish I was somebody else.” Her relationship in the song is crumbling through her fingers but she still hopes that alcohol will blunten the pain and rekindle the need to love again.

Mesmerising.

Leave a Reply

